I care for you — Poem to an ‘IS’ fighter

Dear brother.
I heard you today.
You told me that you will kill me.
You left no doubt about it.
You told me there is no other way.

Nothing except your death will stop you from killing me.

Hearing you made me go silent.
Silent from fear.
Not the fear of you killing me.
Silent from fear of what you ask me to do.
I went silent because you ask me to end your life,
if I want mine to continue.

I will not end your life.

I will not deny who I am.
I will not deny who you are.
I will not deny our relation.
I will not deny my responsibility.
I will not deny my love.
I will not deny this truth.

You are a gift.

Your life is a gift,
given to you by what you call your God,
the source of all creation.
I will not turn against your God,
and deny the gift you are,
by harming you;
by not caring for you;
by not loving you.

I am grateful to what you call your God,
that which gives me life.
I practice my gratitude
by looking after life
and making sure that life continues.

I care for all of your God’s creation.
I care for you.
My dear brother
what will you do?